‘Force Majeure’ – World Premiere Piano Concerto by Kats-Chernin

Loading Events

Moore plays the world premiere of Elena Kats-Chernin’s piano concerto ‘Force Majeure’ and Valentin Silvestrov’s ‘Bagatelles Opus 1’.

Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows, Sydney Conservatorium students, acclaimed Australian pianist Lisa Moore and conductor Roger Benedict come together for a special concert that showcases the extraordinary music of Elena Kats-Chernin. A brilliant early work, Cadences, Deviations and Scarlatti, is heard alongside a brand new piano concerto Force Majeure written especially for Lisa Moore. Kats-Chernin’s Eastern European roots are honoured by the inclusion of masterpieces by Stravinsky (his neoclassical Dumbarton Oaks), Silvestrov (his beguiling Bagatelles) and Janacek, whose On an Overgrown Path for solo piano will be heard in Martin Bresnick’s inspired and ingenious arrangement for chamber orchestra.

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Concerto in E-Flat Major, “Dumbarton Oaks”

Valentin Silvestrov (1937-)
3 Bagatelles Op.1 No.1 for solo piano

Elena Kats-Chernin (1957-)
Piano Concerto: Force Majeure (World Premiere)


Elena Kats-Chernin 
Cadences, Deviations and Scarlatti

Leoš Janaáček (1854-1928)
On an Overgrown Path I, JW VIII/17 (arr. Martin Bresnick)

Piano: Lisa Moore
Conductor: Roger Benedict

Sydney Symphony Orchestra Fellows
Sydney Conservatorium of Music students

ADULT | $25


Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top