Tempo Rubato Melbourne concert

Loading Events

Following their ‘packed house’ performances at Tempo Rubato and the Sydney Festival this past January – Moore, Khafagi and Van’t Hoff return for a program of chamber duos by Claude Debussy, Leonard Bernstein, Martin Bresnick (Melbourne premiere), and Harriet Steinke (Australian premiere) – in addition to piano solos celebrating the centenary of György Ligeti’s birth, and the Australian premiere of a new virtuosic work concerning the life cycle of the cicada, composed by the young American pianist-composer Meadow Bridgham – .

Lisa Moore, piano Jenny Khafagi, violin Lloyd Van’t Hoff, clarinet

Musica Ricercata I-VIII by Gyõrgy Ligeti (1951-53)
> I. Sostenuto II. Mesto, rigido e cerimoniale III. Allegro con spirito IV. Tempo di Valse (poco vivace “à l’orgue de Barbarie”) V. Rubato, Lamentoso VI. Allegro molto capriccioso VII. Cantabile, molto legato VIII. Vivace. Energico

Bird as Prophet by Martin Bresnick (1999)*

Sonata by Leonard Bernstein (1941-42)
> 1. Grazioso; poco più mosso 2.  Andantino; vivace e leggiero


Rituals by Harriet Steinke (2023)**
     > I. Practice II. Chorales III. Canons IV. More Canons V. Requiem

Seventeen Years – a fantasy on the life cycle of a cicada  by Meadow Bridgham (2021)**

Violin Sonata by Claude Debussy (1916-17)
     > Allegro vivo II. Intermède: fantasque et léger III. Finale: très animé

** Australian Premiere * Melbourne Premiere

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top