Loading Events

Works by Bartok, Bresnick, Glass, Janacek, Kats-Chernin, and Scriabin

This is a live and live-streamed concert called Eastern Ripples at the Athenaeum Theatre in Melbourne on Thursday February the 25th from 8.30 to 9.30pm (Australian EST*). The show features a collection of solo piano and chamber music with roots in Eastern Europe. The sensational violinist Anna McMichael will join Lisa Moore.
Produced by Melbourne Digital Concert Hall this concert can be attended by up to 200 people, and will be live streamed across the world with state of the art audio-visual equipment.
In case you cannot make the local broadcast time, you can experience the concert for up to 48 hours following the event.
*It’s live at 4.30am NYC. 1.30am San Fran/LA. 9.30am London. 10.30am Rome. 11.30am Cape Town. 5.30pm Hong Kong…
Please read on for more intriguing information…
Our concert will be filled with rippling, soulful, and evocative music celebrating exotic harmonies and folk melodies of Eastern European heritage. It explores the Russian roots of Kats-Chernin, Scriabin, Bresnick, and Glass, the Hungarian Bartók doing Bulgarian dances, and speech rhythms of the Moravian Janáček. The music begins in the late 19th century, journeys through the 20th century, and concludes with a 2021 world premiere. Please scroll down for the complete program.
Anna McMichael and Lisa Moore performed Olivier Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time two seasons ago at the Tyalgum Music Festival NSW and we’re so happy to finally play some duos together – particularly now during this artistic drought. They had our first duo rehearsal this week and are super inspired and energized to perform such great music together – and especially for an audience.
Melbourne Digital Concert Hall has built a stellar platform for the presentation of concert music and the support of musicians today.
Thank you MDCH!
 
Full program details:

Eastern Ripples

Lisa Moore piano

with guest artist:

Anna McMichael violin

Program:

Alexandra Scriabin Preludes 1895-1914 (selected)

Prelude Op.11 no 5 (1896)

Prelude Op.11 no 13 (1895)

Prelude Op.27 no 2 (1900)

Prelude Op.48 no 2 (1905)

Prelude Op.51 no 2 (1906)

Prelude Op.74 no 3 (1914)

Prelude Op.33 no 3 (1903)

Elena Kats-Chernin      Russian Rag (1995)

Philip Glass Piano Etude no.2 (1994)

Béla Bartók    Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm (1939)

Leoš Janáček     Sonata for Violin and Piano (1922)

I Con moto

II Ballada

III Allegretto

IV Adagio

Martin Bresnick Mayn Rue Plats (2020)  world premiere